Lessons Learned from Blogging Fails

Now that Mmm Stories has celebrated its (undeserved yet uncelebrated) one-year anniversary, I felt it was time to step in from my hiatus and act like a good blogger mama and show some love to my baby.

Whether this post is my last forever or my first in a new stream, I’d like my little blog to have some closure on this whirlwind of a year. Because while it hasn’t been heavily documented, it has been one of great self-actualization.

And that includes figuring out why my first year was..well..

kind of a Fail.

So please people: If you’re looking to start a blog – or are wondering why you can’t keep on track – here’s some things to note.

Lessons Learned from Blogging Fails

1. If you’re going to try to fit into a genre, actually dedicate yourself to it.

If you’re trying to show the world that you know what it means to balance life while still maintaining a healthy lifestyle – make sure that you are committed and truly interested in those actions.

I learned pretty quickly that it’s hard to talk about tough workouts, strength gains and weight loss if I’m not really getting in any great gym sessions. And I’m not going to show people how to make a tasty dessert or a healthy snack for a party – if I’m not really into writing down recipes.

So if you have a topic you’d like to focus on: make sure you’re sticking with it in day-to-day life.

2. Sometimes you may not need an outlet.

When I first started reading healthy living blogs, I was afraid to talk about weight loss or exercise or eating right with my friends in real life. Discovering other blogs was like magically finding the missing community I’d been searching for. 

But fortunately, since following my first blogs in July 2010, I have begun talking about all things fit and healthy with my real life friends. We are honest and upfront with our struggles and we cheer each other on with our accomplishments. Having work out and healthy eating partners has meant I have needed to reach out less online.

3a. Make sure you like pictures – editing them or being in them.

It’s going to be hard to document your life if you think every picture of yourself is terrifying.

Even if they are.

3b. It’s going to be hard to star in photos and text about your life – if you don’t really like who you are.

This is really the most important lessons I’ve learned about blogging!

If you’re too uncomfortable with the way you look to take a picture of yourself, but also too afraid of admitting that you’re unhappy with the way you look…you’re going to run out of things to blog about.

There is no hiding your unhappiness when it comes to sharing it all on a blog. So either document your struggles or wait until you’re happier. Authenticity is key because in the end, you’re the star of the show.

Fortunately 12.1 months have taught me a great deal and many ways to overcome previous obstacles. It’s just another one of those examples of when you let go of trying to be a certain way, things start to fall right into place.

I look forward to seeing ya’ll around.

6 thoughts on “Lessons Learned from Blogging Fails

  1. Funny story, somehow I was subscribed to your blog without being able to remember what post it was that I saw to make me subscribe. But as a regularly new blogger, I must say Thank you! It is so great to read posts about the struggles other bloggers have with staying on topic and staying current. I don’t have it all figured out, but thats okay. I hope all is going well for you!

    • Thanks Katie! Funny how people seem to pop in and out of our radar. I agree it takes a lot more time and thought to blog than many people realize. (Do you document every detail? Is it action or goal focused? Full of tips? More reflection based? Oy.) Other bloggers have said the same thing about taking time to find their own voice and fuel. The best thing you can do is keep trying until it seems right — and remember: blogs will change as our lives change. Good for you for keeping up with it!

  2. This is a great post and I love how honest you are in it. Fact: I am not comfortable enough with the way I look (ever, in my whole life) to post pictures of myself frequently. BUT….I force myself to do it because at some point I need to get the F over it. And also, even though I know this never helps coming from anyone else, you are absolutely gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

