Birthday (and Celebration) Calories Don’t Count

The past few weeks have been all about my hot shot sister. But what can you do? She can’t help that she’s beautiful, fun, intelligent and now..18 AND A HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATE!!

I’m soo happy for and proud of Rachel! And the celebrations all began 2 weeks ago in our quiet house on Tuesday, May 24 at 12:00 am. Since then there has been no shortage of sugar overloads or deliciousness.

Well technically, it all started Monday night, when I cooked up dinner for the two of us. Baked chicken and veggies: plenty of zucchini, potatoes, carrots, broccoli and asparagus to get the healthy in our system and out of the way.

The big moment arrived only a few sleepy hours later. With a knock on the door, I entered her bedroom blasting Trey Songz’ “Say Ahh” on my computer and mayyybe pouring a celebratory drink for the two of us.

Go girl..It’s your birthday!

Tuesday was a feast to be beat!

There were flowers and balloons to accompany the cookies and cookie cakes and cakes (and cereal!!) as gifts…


…And Peanut Butter Frosted Cookie Dough Blondies ala How Sweet It Is…

Make a wish!

..Topped off by a veggie-filled dinner at The YardHouse which she could barely choke down.

Though the company couldn’t be beat 🙂

Thursday, we tackled the Mexican-themed smorgasbord my father prepared for her 18th! He made a ginormous spread of veggies, beans, protein, salsa, cheese, tortillas and guac! MMM.

And more cake –  Red Velvet – Of Course!

To say that I’ve needed a food detox would be no exaggeration.

Buuuuttt….that didn’t happen.

After all, there were graduation festivities to be had!

This girl had Highest Honors, 6 Senior Awards, the stole for National Honor Society and a few community service pins! My brother and I like to joke she is the “last hope for our family.”

This was my 3rd and final graduation to attend for our high school though somehow, the 1,100 person graduation never gets any easier to sit through! The school calls names quickly but it still takes an hour and a half from start to finish for only the  4 seconds of our gal crossing the stage.

Needless to say, after all was said and celebrated, homemade strawberry cake balls were a must!

Do you like birthdays? I hate my own but love others people’s! Whats your favorite way to celebrate a holiday or accomplishment?

7 thoughts on “Birthday (and Celebration) Calories Don’t Count

  1. Thank you so much for coming and saying hi and welcoming me to Chitown! It’ll be interesting I’m sure. Graduations are a killer. My family had a triple graduation year – one high school, one college, and my Masters. I used to LOVE birthdays until I turned 25. Now they make me nervous. I’m 26 in five days and sort of FREAKING OUT about it.

    I look forward to continuing to read!

  2. Pingback: 23. « Mmm Stories

Leave a Reply

