Awkward Staycationing

Hiya!

First, just a shout-out that I re-updated my About Me page! Check it outt!

This week is a little nutty for me as I’m taking a “staycation” downtown while a friend is in Chicago for interviews. Packing for a week away from home while not technically going away is weirdddd!

But my car is loaded up and my fridge at work is stocked up and on Monday night, I said “Byee” to my family until I’ll return Friday.

The experience was actually my first time menu planning with such detail. For work lunches, I roasted a BIG bunch of zucchini, squash, peppers, tomatoes, eggplant, green beans and  pea pods and split them into different Tupperware containers, pairing them with tofu or on top of a salad with hard boiled egg and black beans. I also bagged up sliced apples, nuts and raisins for each meal.

Preparing the week in advance was pretty fun and maybe something I implement from now on as it saves me time each day to not have to worry about packing a lunch – though it doesn’t take leftovers into consideration.

Awkward Stories of the Week

Summer is almosttttttt upon us and that means the return of beach weather and tanning!! In preparation, I redeemed a brazilian wax Groupon at a nice salon in Glencoe. The place is called Angeliza Spa and I havee to recommend it to any Chicagoans because it was the quickest, most painless wax in my life! And speed and comfort make all the difference when someone’s ripping hair off your unmentionables.

The owner also made moves to set me up with her son, who is around my age and Jewish. I thought it was a wonderful idea. Then I started wondering how I felt that this boy’s mom had seen me with my pants off…..I guess she approved of what she saw.

Ha! And that, my friends, is how I took this blog to a whole new level of awkwardness.

The Art of Racing in the Rain

This morning during my commute, I officially finished the audio version of The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. It’s been well received by almost everyone already, but I also had to chime in my support.

The book breaks your heart, makes you laugh out loud and inserts smooth commentary on the human race through an engaging tone and outsider perspective. I became totally immersed in the characters’ lives and thought it was such a smart touch to introduce the story from the dog’s point of view. I do judge a book on a bad ending and this one, fortunately, did not let me down. All loose ends were tied up and I ended the book both in fits of tears and a smile on my face.

Good to note: They’re making a movie based on the book, due out in 2012! I really wish they could choose the narrator from my audio book to voice for Enzo, the dog, in the movie because his voice was perfect!

But that’s the problem. As much as I love listening to a book-on-tape,  it is just not OK to be bawling your eyes out in the middle of morning traffic!  Sunglasses stayed on, makeup was re-applied at work and fingers were crossed that drivers didn’t think I was spasming on my drive. That was one emotional drive.

Have you ever taken a Staycation?

Do you meal plan?

Are you as awkward as I am?

See you all later this week! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Awkward Staycationing

  1. Oh my gosh, I would have *died* with that woman trying to set me up with her son! Eeks!

    When I lived near my parents, I would “staycation” at their house sometimes in the summer–they have a pool, and a nice deck, and food, and booze . . . 😀 Why leave town when that’s right there?

  2. Pingback: Teenage Superstars « Mmm Stories

  3. Pingback: The Story I Haven’t Told You « Mmm Stories

Leave a Reply

