Mel’s Workout Plan

Hi Frandz!

I had a picture post all set to go for “My Monday” but it was more of the random nature I cooked up last week.  Maybe it will be best served as a go-to when I’m in Vegas NEXT WEEK!

Considering my Vegas trip is only 6 days out, I thought I’d revisit my goals a little bit and talk about the measures I’ve taken to crank out a hot bod.

Also, I realize that this is supposed to be a healthy living blog, right? Kinda sorta? To be honest, I started this blog because I loved hearing other’s stories and thought this would be a good way to relay my own. Already I’ve learned how much more difficult it is for me to tell my own stories; so now, I’d like to try to bring more substance and less random junk to the bale.

My Workout Picks

I’ve been working out pretty hard this month and with the help of Groupon and a new gym membership, have been trying some new classes. Every person has their favorite ways to workout and today I embody Kanye West to bring you Mel’s Work Out Plan…the way in which I see the best result for each body group.

  • Upper Body – Nothing challenges and shows results to my arms, shoulders and chest like Body For Life style work outs. I’ve never actually participated in a B4L challenge but I do like adopting their lifting technique because it allows for various levels of weight, times and quick results!
    • For those unfamiliar with Body For Life, the workouts are done with sets for each muscle group performed in a pyramid form. To summarize briefly, you select a muscle group (shoulders, chest, back biceps, triceps) and corresponding exercise and perform 5 sets with it – starting with 12 and slowly increasing weight as you continue with reps of 10, 8 and 6. Then after the pyramid, you follow with a medium, yet challenging weight for 12 reps of the same exercise, IMMEDIATELY followed by 12 reps of a 2nd exercise that works the same muscle group. For a  full explanation, read more here.
    • An example for a bicep work out could look like:
    • Move Weight in lbs Reps
      Hammer curl 3# 12
      5# 10
      8# 8
      10# 6
      8# 12
      Bicep curl 8# 12
  • Abs and Core – The name, CoreFusion, should imply it’s killer for the core..and it is! I first began Exhale Spa’s CoreFusion videos after a long exercise hiatus and after only a few viewings, I could already feel the improvement in total core strength. With various videos and classes, CoreFusion enables your core constantly with every exercise. Their motto is “strength in stillness” and each move, including their infamous C-curve is usually held and held. It’s a nice change from crunch after crunch. I like to throw in one ab segment from CoreFusion: Pure Abs & Arms after a total body workout class or cardio day.
  • Lower Body – For thighs and glutes I, again, hand it to CoreFusion. The CoreFusion: Body Sculpt – Thighs portion **my absolute favorite** & CoreFusion: Pilates Plus – Thighs and Glutes portion leave me feeling like I’ve trimmed down my legs every time I do them. I have curvy little legs and many other exercises beef them up more than I’d like or feel like nothing at all! I aim for a good CoreFusion lower body session where it’s hard for me to walk down stairs! I’ve done a few different videos and have actually seen more sleek calves after only 3 sessions.
  • Cardio – My new pick is Spinning. I’ve taken a few spin classes so far and have become enamored by the work outs. Spinning is notorious for it’s ability to crank your calories and your heart rate while keeping you entertained. I like pushing myself through a high resistance and have lately been working on speed. I’d like to attend a class by more youthful teachers, because right now my class’s music selection has only been old-school techno and Bruce Springsteen. Downfall: the sore butt never seems to go away and I develop a raging hunger after.
  • Stretch – I think it’s wonderful that CoreFusion incorporates stretching into their segments, lengthening as they tone and definitely improving noticeable results. Many of their stretches are taken from Yoga, the ultimate stretcher. As a dancer, I think stretching is the best feeling in the world. I would stretch for 15- 30 minutes everyday and it paid off in flexibility! Right now, I’m digging moves that stretch my hammies, hips and back.

I’ve tried to put it all together and my average work out schedule looks something like:

Sunday – CoreFusion video

Monday – Wild Card. It’s been off, Yoga, Spin, Extreme Pump, elliptical, etc.

Tuesday – Spin class

Wed – Extreme Pump class (my gym’s take on Body Pump) + 10 min CoreFusion abs

Thurs – off lately because I’ve had events after work

Fri – Spin Class

Sat – CoreFusion video and/ or BodyForLife upper body weights

Please note this is more of a compiled average. I like to keep it interesting, hate running and usually only go to the gym after work since it is significantly closer to work than home. Plus I CANNOT work out in the morning.

Any workouts I should try to kick my bod in gear?

Lastly, we had a stray cat visit our yard today and I leave you with the video of Tippy’s loud, territorial meowing at the stranger cat.

Editor’s note: I am not a licensed personal trainer, all opinions posted here are my own. Please consult with a doctor or trainer before creating your own routine.

5 thoughts on “Mel’s Workout Plan

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who can’t work out in the morning! It just doesn’t happen for me before 9 a.m.

    do you have anything apple (iPad, iTouch, iPhone)? check out the Nike Training Center I’m always jabbering about! 🙂 I did a post on it a few weeks ago.

    • Yes! I saw that and I’m so intrigued! I’m def an iPod owner but the worst at updating my songs. I believe little trinkets might be the key to getting my legs running..I’ll have to look into this more.

Leave a Reply

