Getting Yo’ Veggies Series v1

Over the weekend, I had a discussion with some friends about vegetables. It was your everyday, ordinary Saturday night pregame: laying on the floor, pouring wine, listening to Top Hits Pandora and discussing how and why we get our veggies.

It’s a common fact that most of the population doesn’t eat their daily recommended dose of greens and my friends sounded similar sentiments. People find a lot of barriers to eating vegetables.  They don’t like the taste. No one else around buys them. They don’t know how to cook em. They only like a select few. Etc.

So I decided to turn to my family and ask my individual family members how each of them finds ways to  incorporate vegetables in their daily life, hoping to compile a list of tips that could appeal to all sorts of different people with different taste buds and different schedules.

Well after I got a Facebook response  from my brother, I knew his POV deserved it’s own post. My brother, Josh, is a junior at the University of Iowa and nicknamed “Greens” by his buddies for his frequent wearing and eating of all things green. Not bad for an (almost!) 21-year-old boy.

How To Incorporate Veggies Into Your Daily Life

Option #1: Eat like this guy…

copy & pasted from our facebook message thread

Josh K: I rarely eat a meal without a green vegetable.

At least one of my meals a day (sometimes 2-3 ha) involves pasta, so I always have some green veggies ready to saute and toss in with the sauce and cheese

Jen [girlfriend] makes fun of me when we go grocery shopping because like most normal people, she buys all of her produce/food based on the meals she will make that week. I on the other hand buy assorted veggies, peppers/onions/tomatos/mushrooms/spinach/zucchini etc along with bread, tortillas, cheese, dairy etc. Jen makes fun of me b/c she calls me an ‘ingredient shopper’, but I like it this way. (Ed note: I’m the same way!) Whenever im bored or hungry, I cut up the veggies and toss them in tupperware. This way, in the morning when I make an omelet or dinner when I make a pasta dish or lunch for a sandwich or something I can just toss in the veggies. No real effort to go out of the way to eat em, there just always there.

Yes I am weird.

*oOo and green is jus my favorite color soooo i jus gravitate towards green foods naturally duh

and yes i take pictures of my food

Me: Thanks Josh! But WHY do you choose to eat them?

Josh K: Cause they taste GREAT. They add texture, color and flavor to my favorite foods….Um. I guess I don’t think about it much. Most food is junk and processed these days, so its nice to mix in something that is REAL and FRESH and natural.

—-

And that, my friends, is how Josh sees it.

Break Away Tips:

– Buy a wide selection of vegetables to have on hand

– Try to add at least one to every meal

– Cut up veggies in advance to store in the fridge

– Ignore other college aged male’s reactions

Next post: my mom, my sister, and my step-dad’s take

Did you eat your veggies in college?

6 thoughts on “Getting Yo’ Veggies Series v1

  1. I didn’t eat many veggie in college, but that all changed after graduation. Once I got stuck bringing my lunch to work everyday, sitting on my butt at a computer, I knew I needed to eat healthier. Now I love my greens!

  2. Pingback: Back and Better Than Ever «

Leave a Reply

