Valentine’s Day Crafts and Treats

Before I get into my Valentine’s Day delicacies and indulgences, let me start with a picture of a healthy Green Monster.

pre-blended

Whew I feel a lot better now….!

So yesterday, I mentioned that I had found some old Cookie Monster valentines from my elementary school hay-day that were too cute not to send around to friends. We can’t set up “mailboxes” in a 4th grade classroom and walk around distributing cards anymore, so I decided to put together care packages to send to people in the Chicago area.

When I initially found these Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe, I just J’d my P with excitement! I thought they would be the perfect send off with a cookie monster valentine.

Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies
recipe from Picky Palate

  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 10 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 package Oreo cookies ā€“ I used Double Stuf

Begin by creaming together butter and sugar. According to The End of Overeating, the combination of fat and sugar is the most addicting flavor combination out there. This would explain a lot.

After, add in the eggs and vanilla and mix until well combined.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, and salt. Slowly add to the wet mixture and combine thoroughly. Stir in the chocolate chips. Chill for about 15 minutes.

Flatten one scoop of dough with palm and place on top of an Oreo cookie. Repeat and place a flat piece of cookie dough on the bottom of the Oreo to create a cookie sandwich. Seal the edges together to completely close in the Oreo.

Bake for 9 – 13 minutes at 350 degrees. Let cool.

These cookies are buttery and rich! It definitely feels like the kind of cookie Mr. Cookie Monster himself would want to nom on.

However, I wanted to throw my besties another cookie they wouldn’t feel so guilty devouring. My go-to health cookie recipe comes straight from Rachel Wilkerson. There’s a nice dose of wheat flour, an added kick of “superfoods” walnuts, chocolate and oats and not too much sugar or butter

Superfood Cookies

6 tbsp unsalted butter

3/4 cup packed light brown sugar

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup whole-wheat flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 and 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips or coarsely chopped dark chocolate

It was a miracle I didn’t gorge myself on cookie dough. Thankfully, they still yielded a perfect amount of cookies.

The Crafts

In order to complete my Valentine’s Day package, I took one of each cookie and wrapped them in a wax paper lunch bag, sealed with a cute sticker.

Coupled with adorable Cookie Monster valentines.

And thrown placed in a large, padded envelope to be stamped and mailed!

—–

 

See you NEVERRRRRR leftovers šŸ™‚


Are you making any treats or sweets for Valentine’s Day this year?

4 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Crafts and Treats

  1. Pingback: The Good Word «

Leave a Reply

