To Recipe or Not to Recipe?

It feels great to be back in the kitchen!! Last night after work, I whipped up Cake Mix Brownies ala Girl Meets Life for my sister’s friend’s birthday. Then I spent the hours before bedtime making a soup for lunch (more down below), while this morning I added a Green (but purple-looking) Monster into my life! Weee woo.

One thing I find intriguing is the difference between my “made by recipe” meals and my “throw it together” meals. When I make a recipe, I like to follow each step –  maybe making a random substitution or eliminating an ingredient or two – to make sure it comes out just perfectly. But my friends tease me because when I’m just raiding the fridge or cabinets, I like to add the most random things to “soup up” my meal, anything goes! A Pimp My Food if you will.  Cereal? I add seeds, apples, and raisins. Noodles? Just add broccoli, carrots and spices. Even ice cream. Best served with bananas and walnuts.

My lunch would be a pretty telling example of these difference.

  • On the one hand, we have the salad I threw together. I personally believe anything can be put in a salad. So here you see…

…Lettuce, hard boiled eggy, green peppers, tomatos, carrots, cucumbers and pineapple;  tossed under mashed sweet potato and topped with Italian and thyme seasonings with a little balsamic vinegar.

I mean..WHAT?! I’ll tell ya, it tasted wonderful. I love mixing sweet flavors into my salad! Even though I’ve read gastrointestinally, it’s not wise to pair fruits with veggies.

…Onions, zucchini, carrots and celery sauteed up in olive oil with cumin, garlic, ginger, cinnamon, coriander, and salt; then brought to a boil with water, canned chopped tomatoes (I used the spicy jalapeno kind), half a cup of canned pumpkin, can of chickpeas and a handful of raisins.

This tasted like it was created for my mouth!! I guess that’s the beauty of working off a recipe…it’s been tried and tested and proven delicious.

My recipe soup and non-recipe salad wound up being the perfect lunch! Sweet and savory flavor combination; plenty of veggies and a kick of protein. I was full for hourssssssss. It was a strange occurrence.

Now I’m off to the store to pick up eggs for some special Valentine’s Day treats. I’m creating little goodies to go with these valentines – yes, I totally found them while I was cleaning my room; they’re cerca 4th grade! I think my friends will get a kick out of em.

Cookie Monster Valentines.

Stay tuned for the final result!

Do you prefer to follow recipes or make your own concoction?

2 thoughts on “To Recipe or Not to Recipe?

  1. When it comes to “serious” things (haha!) like a fancy dessert or a dinner meal with meat, I like to follow the recipe exactly. But like you, when it comes to soup, salads and snacks, I pretty much throw anything in! 🙂 Those Valentine’s are awesome!! Cookie Monster rules!

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Crafts and Treats «

Leave a Reply

