Food-Afterhours Granola

Tonight I saw the college I work for tweeted that campus would be closed again tomorrow! While snow days mean something different to every one, for me it means getting to stay up later!

I’m a natural night owl and even though the real world has helped me ease into an early bed time, I love writing at night.

It was also the perfect excuse to have FAFTIES!

While, I’ve been superr good about not eating late at night, Fafties are sometimes just necessary.

Fafties (noun) – The combination of the words “food” and “afterhours” OR a social event in which eating is the focus of the gathering, usually occurring late at night after a previous event. Example: Sorry, but there’s just no way I’m letting you have Fafties at Taco Bell for the 4th time this week.

IMG_2516 Fafties can look like this.

But first, let’s back up!

After writing my first post (!), I decided it was pretty unacceptable to have only eaten oatmeal and half a batch of brownies through out the day. My body needed some food group variety and a soup seemed like the perfect solution! I pulled out Danielle’s New Year’s Protein Packed Soup recipe I’d bookmarked and got to work.

My sister always yells at me for using too many utensils when cooking so I eyeballed the spices. Fail. I added wayyy too many chili flakes, burnt them and then wound up sending my family into a coughing and sneezing fit for the next hour, whoops!

Feed Me! Protein & Veggie Soup adapted from Food For Fueling

1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp dried chili flakes
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp tumeric
2 L vegetable stock, I used 1 box vegetable broth, 3 cups water
1 cup lentils
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 /4 cup edamame

1/2 package tofu
1/3 package frozen green beans

1 carrot, chopped

2 celery stalks, chopped

Begin by heating oil and spices for one minute. Add broth and bring to boil. Add lentils and wait 20 minutes to add final ingredients. Let simmer until lentils are soft.

IMG_0562

The original recipe calls for egg noodles and I can see why added grains makes this soup tastier. This soup has such a great combination of flavors and nutrients! If I could only figure out the amount of spices, I’d probably feel better about how it turned out.

Feeling a little more balanced, I sat down to some Top Chef when my night was interrupted to deal with the snowed-in cars. Needless to say, after an hour of shoveling, falling, and careful steering, I was sure the whole family could use some Fafties.

I decided to whip up Nicole from PreventionRD’s (a fellow ILLINI!) Power Granola. I kept most things the same, subbing cranberry juice instead of orange, adding sunflower seeds, nixing the almonds and doubling the walnuts and switching in raisins for dried cranberries. 35 minutes and 1 Friends episode later, I had our midnight snack.

IMG_0563

This recipe is great in that it’s not dominated by sugar, but I found the texture to be a little more crumbly than expected, probably due to only having Instant Oats. I’m hoping it will become breakfast approved for my early-to-bed “roommates”.

Goodnight/ Good mornin’ everyone!

Do you have a favorite late night snack?

8 thoughts on “Food-Afterhours Granola

  1. I have sent myself (and my housemates) into a sneezing and coughing fit many times over chili pepper flakes. This fafties word intrigues me…fafties usually occurs after a night with too many drinks. My friends and I hit up a Mediterranean place nearby for falafel and hummus. mmmmmm..
    I look forward to reading more of your blog!

    • Mmmm that sounds so good! I like using it because it sounds a little classier saying “Let’s have fafties!” than “Hey want to go home and stuff ourselves?” 🙂
      Thanks for the welcome 🙂

  2. Pingback: 25 Day Countdown «

  3. Pingback: 23. « Mmm Stories

Leave a Reply

